YOUR HEALTH and chakras

YOUR HEALTH and chakras

Chakras (energy centers) are part of your energy body. They receive, generate, store, and transmute energy throughout your body. There are seven major and several minor chakras. Each chakra influences the functions of various organs and body systems and contribute to your feelings of physical, mental, and emotional well-being.

Stress, suppressing emotions, and neglecting your feelings are some of the reasons that can lead to depletion or blockages in the energy centers. Children learn to hide their true feelings and emotions very early on, often due to fears. This often becomes a ‘habit’ that follows them into adulthood, unnoticed!

The seven major chakras and the areas that they might govern:

  • Root Chakra
    • Physical: spine, kidneys, legs, feet, rectum, and immune system
    • Psychological: survival issues, security, and relationships
  • Sacral Chakra
    • Physical: lower abdomen, large intestine, liver, gallbladder, kidneys, pancreas, adrenal glands, spleen, and lower back
    • Psychological: blame, guilt, money, and control issues
  • Solar Plexus Chakra
    • Physical: upper abdomen, liver, gallbladder, kidneys, adrenal glands, small intestines, and stomach
    • Psychological: self esteem, fear of rejection, over sensitivity, self image, fears, and indecisiveness
  • Heart Chakra
    • Physical: heart, circulatory system, blood, lungs, diaphragm, thymus, breast, esophagus, shoulders, arms, and hands
    • Psychological: love, compassion, confidence, hope, and generosity
  • Throat Chakra
    • Physical: throat, thyroid, thymus, immune system, hearing, taste, and smell
    • Psychological: self knowledge, attitudes, self expression, creativity, will, addictions, and authority
  • Brow (3rd Eye) Chakra
    • Physical: brain, eyes, ears, nose, and pituitary and pineal glands
    • Psychological: fear of truth, judgement, confusion, discipline, and mental clarity
  • Crown Chakra
    • Physical: top of head and area above the ears
    • Psychological: lack of purpose, loss of identity, trust, selfishness, devotion, and inspiration

If the chakra is healthy and energy is flowing well, you will notice positive effects. If the chakra is congested or depleted, you might notice some disease. When neglected and left unchecked, it can lead to lack of energy and other physical ailments.